Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William Burleigh Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 09 Sep 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Burleigh, William, 1785-1827.
Title: William Burleigh Collection
Dates: 1820-1842 (bulk: 1820-1826)
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Financial and legal papers of a lawyer from Maine, including Port of New York import certificates for tea, deeds, and depositions in various cases.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Burleigh was an American lawyer from South Berwick, Maine during the early 19th century. Little is known about Burleigh, although it is known that his son, John Holmes, was not a lawyer like his father.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The bulk of the William Burleigh Collection contains correspondence on legal matters. The collection also consists of legal and financial documents of the lawyer, including depositions, Port of New York import certificates, receipts, checks, and deeds of sale.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Burleigh, William, 1785-1827.

Subjects

Lawyers -- Maine.

Occupations

Lawyers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Burleigh Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Financial and Legal Documents


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 229 1820-1842
Financial and Legal Documents
SC 229 Checks 1787-1791 - signed by Samuel Meredith, Treasurer of the United States 1789-1801 (5 items)
SC 229 List of accounts - from David M. Coffin to Isaac Wendell
SC 229 Receipts - from the Port of New York for goods imported (10 items)
SC 229 Miscellaneous