Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Hazard Burdick Diary

An inventory |of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: ## creator of finding aid content (initials)
Date: 24 Jul 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Burdick, Hazard, fl. 1879.
Title: Hazard Burdick Diary
Dates: 1879
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Diary of farmer from Fenner Corners in Madison County, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of Hazard Burdick other than what can be gleaned from the diary. He was evidently a dairy farmer and lumberjack. USGenWeb's History of Chenango County mentions a Rev. Hazard Burdick (d. 1841) as an early settler of the town of Preston; this Hazard may have been a son or grandson. The Burdick Family Association lists a Hazard Wilcox Burdick (1818-1908) in Fenner, New York, married to [1] Mercy Ennis and [2] Dione Jennings, who is likely the same as the diarist.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hazard Burdick Diary is a single volume containing the diary of Hazard Burdick, a dairy farmer and lumberjack from Fenner Corners in Madison County, New York. The diary gives a glimpse into his daily routine: weather (including snowstorms), livestock, business transactions, visits from neighbors, travel to surrounding towns such as Cazenovia and Syracuse, and so on.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Burdick, Hazard Wilcox.

Subjects

Farmers -- Diaries.
Farmers -- New York (State)

Places

Madison County (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Occupations

Farmers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hazard Burdick Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 748 Diary 1879