Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jacob Burckhardt Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Burckhardt, Jacob, 1818-1897.
Title: Jacob Burckhardt Collection
Dates: circa 1850-1947
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: German art and cultural historian. Collection contains items both by and about Burckhardt, including correspondence, clippings, printed material, typescripts, photographs, more.
Language: German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jacob Burckhardt (1818-1897) was a German art and cultural historian. He specialized in the Renaissance and classical periods, and is sometimes credited with developing the field now known as cultural history.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jacob Burckhardt Collection consist of correspondence, clippings, printed material, booklets and other material. Some material is by Burckhardt but the bulk is about him.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Burckhardt, Jacob, 1818-1897.

Subjects

Art historians -- Switzerland.
Culture -- Philosophy -- History -- 19th century.
Historians -- Switzerland.
History -- Philosophy.
Renaissance -- Italy.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Pamphlets.
Photographs.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Art historians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jacob Burckhardt Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1969.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.