Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert Browning Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Dec 1996

Revision history:
9 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Title: Robert Browning Collection
Dates: 1871-1889
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Four letters by the English poet, and a photograph of him. Recipients of the letters include J. Dewitt Miller, N. Myers, and Charles Kent.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert Browning (1812-1889) was an important Victorian playwright and poet. Among his best-known works are his poems "My Last Duchess" and "Porphyria's Lover."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Browning Collection consists of four letters written by the English poet and a photograph of him. Declining an invitation to visit the United States, Browning writes, "...and though enough light remains to move about as in the Old World, I fear it would fail me if I strayed into the New."

Recipients of the letters are J. Dewitt Miller, N. Myers, and Charles Kent.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Browning, Robert, 1812-1889.
Miller, Dewitt, 1857-1911.

Subjects

Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Browning Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Myers letter, gift of Sol Feinstone. Others, purchase, 1970, 1971.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Photographs


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 141 Various 1871, 1881, 1888, 1889
Photographs
SC 141 of Browning undated - copyright Alexander Bassano, London; autograph on verso, "R. Barrett Browning"