Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Colleen Browning Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jan 1967

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Browning, Colleen.
Title: Colleen Browning Collection
Dates: 1957
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Irish American painter. Collection contains photographs of her work, published articles and clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Colleen Browning (1929-2003) was an Irish-American painter known for her figures, landscapes and still lifes. Originally a designer of movie sets, her style is generally Realist, sometimes resembling Social and Magic Realism. She studied art in London and received many awards, scholarships and prizes, among them a Carnegie Institute Prize and an Emily Lowe Award. She also taught at Pratt Institute, City College of New York, and the National Academy of Design. Her work is in the permanent collections of several major museums and has appeared in Time, Newsweek, Glamour, the New York Times, Arts Magazine, Art International, and American Artist.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Colleen Browning Collection contains photographs and reproductions of Browning's work, an article about her from American Artist, and several pages of typed copies of reviews.


Arrangement of the Collection

Photographs appear first, followed by articles and reviews.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Browning, Colleen.

Subjects

Art, Modern -- 20th century.
Artists -- United States.
Illustrators -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Women artists -- United States.
Women painters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Illustrators.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Colleen Browning Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1964.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 551 Article about, reviews of, and photographs of her work 1957