Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Thurlow W. Brown Letter

An inventory of his item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: AM
Date: 5 May 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brown, Thurlow W.
Title: Thurlow W. Brown Letter
Dates: 1850
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: One incoming holograph letter from unnamed sender.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thurlow W. Brown lived in Auburn, N.Y. Little is known about about Brown, although the substance of the letter would imply he was involved with the Erie Railroad. It is possible but not completely verifiable by this source that he may be Thurlow Weed Brown, a journalist, editor and author who wrote for the cause of temperance.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thurlow W. Brown Letter consists of one incoming holograph letter from an unknown writer. Written on the reverse is the following: "Substance of letter to Thurlow W Brown Esq Dated Sept. 30th, 1850." A transcribed version of the letter found in the Cayuga Chief newspaper indicates the unknown writer has the initials P.S.P. The letter concerns the Erie Railroad.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Brown, Thurlow W.

Corporate Bodies

New York and Erie Railroad Company.

Subjects

Railroads -- New York (State)

Places

Auburn (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thurlow W. Brown Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 322 30 Sep 1850 - From Stockport, Wayne County, PA. (1 page)