Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Brown, Jr. Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Jun 1994

Revision history:
4 Jun 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brown, John, 1821-1895.
Title: John Brown, Jr. Collection
Dates: 1849-1895
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the farmer and soldier, free soil advocate, son of abolitionist John Brown (1800-1859). 13 combination diary/account books (1856-1895), and 3 letters of his father to family members.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Brown, Jr. (1821-1895) was the oldest of twenty children of the noted abolitionist John Brown of Kansas. He was a farner, soldier, and Free Soil advocate.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Brown, Jr. Collection contains thirteen diary/account books of John Brown, Jr. and three letters from Brown's father.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Brown, John, 1800-1859.

Subjects

Abolitionists -- United States.
Farmers -- Diaries.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Diaries.
Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Social reformers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Brown, Jr. Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Sol Feinstone.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Diaries/account books


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 John Brown, Sr. 28 Sep 1849; 24 Feb 1852; 15 Aug 1855
Diaries/account books
John Brown, Jr.
Box 1 [Untitled] 1856, 1872, 1875, 1879-1880 (6 volumes)
Box 2 [Untitled] 1883-1887, 1894-1895 (7 volumes)