Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Harry G. Brown Sketchbook

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Mar 2012

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brown, Harry G.
Title: Harry G. Brown Sketchbook
Dates: 1908
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Bound volume with sketches in ink, colored pencil, possibly watercolor, also a song "The Normal Call" apparently from student at Glasgow Provincial Training College.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of Harry G. Brown other than the suggestion given by the sketchbook that he was a student at Glasgow Provincial Training College in the early 1900s. Based on the fact that the sketchbook was found in the attic of a house in Carlisle, New York, he or some member of his family likely lived there at some time.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harry G. Brown Sketchbook consists of a bound volume containg sketches and cartoons in ink, colored pencil, possibly watercolor and pastels. There are also a poem about the ladies of England, and a song entitled "The Normal Call" with both music and words. Several of the drawings are colorful detailed montages of Edinburgh scenes — castles, the city's coat of arms, and so on — similar to what might appear on a souvenir postcard.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Brown, Harry G.

Corporate Bodies

Glasgow Provincial Training College.

Subjects

Artists -- Scotland.
Camels -- Pictorial works.
Students -- Scotland.
Women -- Pictorial works.

Places

Edinburgh (Scotland) -- Pictorial works.
Glasgow (Scotland) -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Sketches.
Student drawings.
Watercolors (paintings)

Occupations

Artists.
Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harry G. Brown Sketchbook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles Tremper, 2012.


Table of Contents

Sketchbooks


Inventory

Sketchbooks
SC 681 Sketchbook 1908