Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Broadsides Collection

An inventory of at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CAK
Date: 13 Nov 1979

Revision history:
8 Nov 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Title: Broadsides Collection
Dates: 1965-1970
Quantity: 7.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Materials include newsletters, newsclippings, brochures and other types of ephemeral materials on the subjects of nuclear disarmament, right wing Christianity, and the Vietnam War.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

A broadside, or broadsheet, is a large sheet of paper printed on one side only. Broadsides can range from 13" x 16" to over 5 feet. Early broadsides consisted primarily of text; later, stock illustrations were used. Broadsides were a fast, cheap and easy method of making information public, and were often posted prominently to announce news or political events or advocate for a particular action or point of view. Advancements in color printing over the years resulted in broadsides eventually being superseded by posters and billboards.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Broadsides Collection consists entirely of printed material. Topics are nuclear disarmament, right wing Christianity, and the Vietnam War. Formats include newsletters, brochures and reports.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by topic.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The University of Georgia has an extensive historical broadside collection available online at http://fax.libs.uga.edu/bro/.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Christian literature.
Nuclear disarmament.
Printed ephemera -- United States -- Specimens.
Protest movements -- 1960-1980.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Protest movements.

Genres and Forms

Brochures.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Ephemera.
Fliers (printed matter)
Leaflets.
Newsletters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Broadsides Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Printed material


Inventory

Printed material
Nuclear disarmament
Box 1 News clippings and reprints
Box 1 Fliers and leaflets (2 folders)
Box 1 Newsletters (8 folders)
Box 1 Reports (4 folders)
Box 2 Society for a Sane Nuclear Policy (5 folders)
Right wing Christianity
Box 2 Letters and fliers (4 folders)
Box 2 Newsletters (5 folders)
Box 3 Newsletters (4 folders)
Box 3 Reports
Vietnam War
Box 3 Fliers and brochures (7 folders)
Box 3 Information booklets (3folders)
Box 3 News clippings
Box 3 Newsletters and periodicals
Box 4 Newsletters and periodicals (16 folders)
Box 5 Newsletters and periodicals (2 folders)
Box 5 Reports
Box 5 Miscellaneous
Miscellaneous
Box 5 Assorted other printed items