Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James A. Britton Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 20 Feb 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Britton, James A.
Title: James A. Britton Papers
Dates: Unknown
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Presentations and architectural drawings by the American architect and Syracuse University alumnus.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American architect James A. Britton graduated from Syracuse University in 1925, and was the founder and owner of James A. Britton, Inc., Architects. In 1980 SU awarded him the George Arents Pioneer Medal for his contributions to the field of architecture, and the James A. Britton Memorial Award, given each year to the top three outstanding student theses in SU's School of Architecture, is named for him. At least two of his buildings -- Deerlick Farm in West Salem, Ohio and the Deacon John Holbrook House in Brattleboro, Vermont -- are on the National Register of Historic Places.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James A. Britton Papers consist of four portfolios and one package of presentations, and one roll of drawings for preservation of the Levi Warner / Ezra Wood house in West Minster, Massachusetts.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Britton, James A.

Subjects

Architecture -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Architectural drawings (visual works)
Presentations.

Occupations

Architects.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James A. Britton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Architecture Library.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.