Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Brick Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: circa 1967

Revision history:
22 Mar 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brick, John.
Title: John Brick Papers
Dates: 1948 (ca)-1965
Quantity: 5.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American novelist, author (1922-1973). Correspondence, primarily in connection with the Author's Guild; manuscript novels and stories; galley proofs; photographs, and printed material, including articles and newspaper clippings by and about Brick. Manuscripts for novels Borne on the wind, Panther Mountain, Richmond Raid, Rogue's Kingdom, The Strong Men, and The Tyger.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Brick (1922-1973) was an American author of historical novels and children's books. Born in Newburgh, New York he attended Newburgh Free Academy and later studied creative writing at Columbia University.

His first published novel was Troubled Spring in 1950; other works include The Raid (1951), Homer Crist (1952), The Rifleman (1953), and Jubilee (1956). In addition to his writing, Brick was managing editor of Export Trade (1945-49), a staff writer for Life magazine (1960-61), assistant to the president of University of Toledo, Ohio (1962-63), and a professional staff member of United States Senate Permanent Investigations Subcommittee (from 1963).

John Brick was a member of the Authors Guild, P.E.N., and the Authors League.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Brick Papers consist of incoming and outgoing correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material.

Incoming correspondence and Outgoing correspondence consist of letters to Brick or written by him, respectively, and includes that of both individuals and organizations.

Subject files include book jackets, bulletins, business transactions, certificates, lists, notes, photographs, and so on.

Manuscripts contains original and typescript copies of novels and stories, as well as one speech.

Published material contains printed matter: galley proofs of some of Brick's books, magazine articles by and about him, newspaper clippings by and about him, and reviews of his books.


Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by sender; outgoing is arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by title. Published material is arranged alphabetically by type and then, if applicable, by title.

One box (Box 12) was added to the collection in 1967 but has not been physically integrated into it.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Brick, John, 1922-

Associated Titles

Borne on the wind.
Panther mountain.
Richmond raid.
Rogue's kingdom.
Strong men.
Tyger.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Brick Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Incoming correspondence

Outgoing correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Published material


Inventory

Incoming correspondence
Box 12 A - W 1962-1966
Box 1 A
Box 1 Authors Guild
Box 1 B
Box 1 Breslin, Howard and Pat
Box 1 C
Box 1 D
Box 1 Donadio, Candida
Box 1 Doubleday and Company, Inc.
Box 12 Doubleday and Company, Inc. 1964, 1965
Box 1 E
Box 1 F
Box 1 Farrar, Mrs. Margaret
Box 1 Farrar, Straus, Young & Company, Inc.
Box 2 G
Box 2 H
Box 2 Hart, Moss (Authors Guild)
Box 2 Hatfield, Ernest I.
Box 2 Heggie, Peter (Authors Guild)
Box 2 Hersey, John (Authors Guild)
Box 2 Hoover, J. Edgar
Box 2 J
Box 2 K
Box 2 Kelly, Michael
Box 2 Kerr, Lowell
Box 2 L
Box 2 M
Box 12 McIntosh, Mavis 1964, 1965, undated
Box 2 McIntosh, Mavis and McKee, Elizabeth (literary representatives)
Box 2 Miller, Merle (Authors Guild)
Box 2 N - O
Box 2 P
Box 12 Pearce, Charles A. (Deull, Sloan and Pearce, Inc.) 1961, 1962, 1964
Box 2 Pearce, Charles A. (Deull, Sloan and Pearce, Inc.)
Box 12 G. P. Putnam's Sons 1963, 1965
Box 2 R
Box 2 Roulston, Margaret Hillis (Authors Guild)
Box 3 S
Box 3 Shirer, William L. (Authors League)
Box 3 Sillicox, Luise (Authors League)
Box 3 Stephens, Willis H.
Box 3 Stout, Rex
Box 3 T - V
Box 3 W
Box 3 Wouk, Herman (Authors League)
Box 3 Y - Z
Box 3 Unidentified
Outgoing correspondence
Box 3 11 Oct 1948 - 20 Sep 1963
Box 12 1954, 1962-1964
Subject files
Box 4 Author's Guild Bulletin
Box 4 Author's Guild and P.E.N. material
Box 4 Book jackets
Box 4 Business transactions
Box 4 Certificates, membership cards, permits
Box 4 Grade reports from Columbia University
Box 4 Lists - membership
Box 4 Matrix
Box 4 Mid-Hudson School Board Institute
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Box 4 Notes
Box 4 Photographs of Brick
Box 4 Pornography material - on censorship, ACLU, etc
Box 4 Synopsis of Brick's books
Manuscripts
Books
Box 4 Ben Bryan, Morgan Rifleman
Box 4 Borne on the Wind (2 folders)
Box 5 Captives of the Seneca
Box 12 On the Old Frontier 1966 (2 copies)
Box 5 Panther Mountain (3 folders)
Box 5 Richmond Raid - pp. 1-230
Box 6 Richmond Raid - pp. 231-459
Box 6 Rogue's Kingdom - pp. 1-260 (2 folders)
Box 7 Rogue's Kingdom - pp. 261-590 (2 folders)
Box 7 The Strong Men - pp. 1-420 (3 folders)
Box 8 The Strong Men - pp. 421-555
Box 8 The Tyger (6 folders)
Box 8 We Band of Brothers (incomplete)
Box 8 Book jacket flaps - The Strong Men
Box 8 Poems by others
Box 8 Speech at NYSSBA Shared Services Conference
Stories
Box 8 "Council for the Defense"
Box 8 "Down on Front Street"
Box 8 "No Evidence"
Box 9 "Fire on the Mountain" (2 folders)
Box 9 "The Hunter"
Box 9 "A Message for Uncle Billy"
Box 9 "Sailor"
Box 9 "The Spikehorn Buck"
Box 9 "There was a Man"
Box 9 Synopsis of various Brick books
Published material
Galley proofs
Box 9 Ben Bryan, Morgan Rifleman (2 folders)
Box 9 Captives of the Seneca (2 folders)
Box 9 The Richmond Raid
Box 10 The Richmond Raid (2 folders)
Box 10 Rogue's Kingdom
Box 11 Rogue's Kingdom (2 folders)
Magazine articles
Box 11 About Brick
Box 11 By Brick, "Rally for Reprints"
Box 11 Book synopses
Newspaper clippings
Box 11 About Brick
Box 12 About Brick 1961
Box 11 By Brick
Box 11 Book reviews
Box 12 Book reviews 1963-1965
Box 11 Miscellaneous