Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Anne Hampton Brewster Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brewster, Anne M. H. (Anne Maria Hampton), 1819-1892.
Title: Anne Hampton Brewster Correspondence
Dates: 1870-1892
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Annie Hampton Brewster was the sister of Benjamin H. Brewster, U.S. Attorney General from 1881-1885. The collection consists largely of correspondence with James Edward Carpenter, Philadelphia attorney.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Anne Hampton Brewster (1818 or 19-1892) was the sister of Benjamin H. Brewster, Philadelphia lawyer and U.S. Attorney General from 1881-1885. She was an unusual woman for her time: she refused to marry, converted to Catholicism, lived alone rather than with a male relative, and sued her brother for complete control over her share of their father's estate. She spent much of her life in Rome and became a professional journalist, publishing articles and essays primarily in Philadelphia, New York and Boston newspapers.

James Edward Carpenter (1841-1901) served in the Union Army during the Civil War, achieving the rank of brevet major, and then became a well-respected business lawyer in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Anne Hampton Brewster Correspondence consists largely of correspondence between Brewster in Rome and Carpenter in Philadelphia. Included are letters of condolence on the death of Carpenter's wife, Harriet, and a few legal documents such as Benjamin Brewster's will.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are subdivided as shown in the inventory below and then arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Brewster, Anne M. H. (Anne Maria Hampton), 1819-1892.
Brewster, Benjamin Harris, 1816-1888.
Carpenter, J. E. (James Edward), 1841-1901.
Dorr, Harriet Odin.

Subjects

Aliens -- Italy.
Lawyers -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia.
Women journalists.

Genres and Forms

Calling cards.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Wills.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Anne Hampton Brewster Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1966.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files


Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming
Box 1 from J. E. Carpenter 1885-1892
Outgoing
Box 1 Description of correspondence from AHB to J. E. Carpenter
Box 1 to J. E. Carpenter 1870, 1885-1892
Box 1 Miscellaneous undated
Of others
Box 1 Calling cards at death of Mrs. Carpenter
Box 1 Letters received by Carpenter family at death of Mrs. Carpenter
Box 1 to Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Carpenter from others
Subject files
Box 1 Legal documents, Anne H. Brewster and Benjamin Brewster 1889, 1892
Box 1 Death notices, Anne Hampton Brewster 1892
Box 1 Miscellaneous