Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Luther A. Brewer Correspondence

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: Sep 1993

Revision history:
28 Jan 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brewer, Luther Albertus, 1858-1933.
Title: Luther A. Brewer Correspondence
Dates: 1902-1920
Quantity: 17 items (SC)
Abstract: Incoming correspondence, 1902-1920, regarding publishing and binding books. Correspondents include Charles M. Klein, Luther S. Livingston, J. F. Newton, Earl Howell Reed, F.B. Sanborn, Alfred de Sauty, Edward E. Smith, and George Sutcliff.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Luther A. Brewer was an American publisher and president of Torch Press, Cedar Rapids, Iowa.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Luther A. Brewer Correspondence consists of Correspondence, 1902-1920, all incoming, relating to publishing, particularly bookbinding. Three letters from Joseph Fort Newton, January-March, 1918, from City Temple, London, describe his comments with American soldiers, war conditions and the cities and cathedrals of Glasgow, Winchester and York, and include comments on the "beer or bread" controversy. Other correspondents include Charles M. Klein, Luther S. Livingston, Earl Howell Reed, F.B. Sanborn, Alfred de Sauty, Edward E. Smith, and George Sutcliff.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Klein, C. M. (Carl Mathias), 1873 or 1884-1951.
Livingston, Luther Samuel, 1864-1914.
Newton, Joseph Fort, 1876-1950.
Reed, Earl H. (Earl Howell), 1863-1931.
Sanborn, F. B. (Franklin Benjamin), 1831-1917.
Sauty, Alfred de.
Smith, Edward E.
Sutcliff, George.

Corporate Bodies

Torch Press (Cedar Rapids, Ia.)

Subjects

Bookbinding industry.
Publishers and publishing.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Publishers and publishing.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Luther A. Brewer Correspondence
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1967.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 14 1902-1920