Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Brandt & Brandt Records

An inventory of their records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DB
Date: 30 Mar 1978

Revision history:
8 Jun 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brandt & Brandt.
Title: Brandt & Brandt Records
Dates: 1935-1957
Quantity: 2.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Literary agency. Collection contains correspondence files for three American authors: Samuel Hopkins Adams, John Gunther, and Harry Hopkins.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Brandt & Brandt was an American literary agency founded in 1914. Their clients included a number of prominent American authors, among them Samuel Hopkins Adams, Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Raymond Chandler and Wallace Stegner. Today the firm is known as Brandt & Hochman.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Brandt & Brandt Records contain the literary agency's correspondence files for three authors: Samuel Hopkins Adams, John Gunther, and Harry Hopkins.


Arrangement of the Collection

Within each author's file, material is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Samuel Hopkins Adams Papers for more Adams material.

Contract files for Brandt & Brandt for the years 1912-1995 are held by the Princeton University Manuscripts Division, http://www.princeton.edu/~rbsc.


Subject Headings

Persons

Adams, Samuel Hopkins, 1871-1958.
Gunther, John, 1901-1970.
Hopkins, Harry.

Corporate Bodies

Brandt & Brandt.

Subjects

Authors and publishers.
Literary agents -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Literary agents.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Brandt & Brandt Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Brandt & Brandt, 1969, 1971.


Table of Contents

Author files


Inventory

Author files
Adams, Samuel Hopkins
Box 1 [General] 1935-1953 (20 folders)
Gunther, John
Box 1 Advertising 1945
Box 1 [General] 1936
Box 2 [General] 1937-1957 (25 folders)
Hopkins, Harry
Box 2 Syndication 1945-1949
Box 2 [General] 1945
Box 3 [General] 1946-1956 (8 folders)