Collection inventory


Finding Aids

S. S. Bradford Letter


Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 14 Jul 2006

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bradford, S. S.
Title: S. S. Bradford Letter
Dates: 29 Nov 1836
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A single letter from S. S. Bradford of Homer, New York to Mr Ben Johnson of Ithaca, asking Mr Johnson to speak to the Homer Anti-Slavery Society.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ben Johnson was a lawyer and abolitionist in Ithaca, New York. Nothing is known of S. S. Bradford.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The S. S. Bradford Letter consists of a single signed letter from Mr. S. S. Bradford of Homer, New York, to Mr Ben Johnson of Ithaca, requesting that Mr Johnson of Ithaca come and speak before the Homer Anti-Slavery Society. Many cities, villages, towns and individuals in central New York were active in the Abolitionist movement: Frederick Douglass' abolitionist newspaper North Star was published in Rochester, New York and New York was home to Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Gerritt Smith and many other notable abolitionists. This letter is important evidence of the existence of organized anti-slavery activity in Homer, New York. According to the letter, the society "now numbers about 250 members," a substantial number considering that even thirty years later (1865) the entire population of the town was only 3,856.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Homer Anti-Slavery Society.

Subjects

Abolitionists -- New York (State) -- Homer.
Abolitionists -- United States.
Antislavery movements -- New York (State) -- Homer.
Political activists -- United States.

Places

Homer (N.Y. : Town) -- History -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

S. S. Bradford Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 2006.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 171 Letter 29 Nov 1836