Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Eva Borst Scrapbook

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Mar 2013

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Borst, Eva.
Title: Eva Borst Scrapbook
Dates: 1916-1918
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Scrapbook compiled by Eva Borst of Syracuse, New York, teacher at the Onondaga Indian School; photographs of the school and teachers as well as family and friends.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Eva Borst, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. R. E. Borst, lived in Syracuse, New York and was a teacher at the Onondaga Indian School there. She was engaged in 1919 to Lieutenant Wesley I. Nodine of Nyack-on-the-Hudson, a graduate of Syracuse University College of Forestry; they married in 1920. [Information from Syracuse Herald, September 1, 1919 and July 18, 1920.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eva Borst Scrapbook consists of an album of more than 200 black and white photographs compiled by Eva Borst of 108 Stadium Place, Syracuse, New York. The album is labeled as spanning the years 1916-1918. Among the photographs are approximately 40 of the Onondaga Indian School, abbreviated OIS, where Borst was a teacher. The photographs show the children in classrooms and out of doors, engaged in various activities such as sewing or quilting. Other photographs show the faculty and staff and a number of the buildings, both exterior and interior. Other photographs are of family and friends, in and around Syracuse as well as on outings to the Thousand Islands and Adirondacks area. Several are of young men in World War I uniform.

All the photographs are captioned, including several that identify Onondaga children by name. Friends and family are sometimes identified only by initials; names given include Elizabeth Crawford, Bob Hastings, Jack, Harriet, Nina, Marie, Agnes, and "Dr. Sweet of Euclid Ave."


Arrangement of the Collection

The scrapbook has been disassembled for preservation purposes but the photographs and pages remain in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Borst, Eva E.
Sweet family.

Corporate Bodies

Onondaga Indian School (Syracuse, N.Y.) -- Pictorial works.

Subjects

Soldiers -- United States.

Places

Adirondack Mountains (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Thousand Islands (N.Y. and Ont.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
United States -- Armed forces -- History -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Occupations

Teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eva Borst Scrapbook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2013.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Box 1 Scrapbook 1916-1918 (2 folders)
Box 1 Original album - includes reference photcopy of entire album