Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Nathaniel Booth Diary

An inventory of his item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 10 Sep 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Booth, Nathaniel, fl. 1865.
Title: Nathaniel Booth Diary
Dates: 1865
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: The Booths, husband and wife, traveled from Rhinebeck, New York, as far west as Toronto and Hamilton, Canada, noting encounters with a storm while crossing Lake Ontario, native peoples, and customs officials, and seeing Niagara Falls. Also, a Halls Bridge vicinity map, and drawings of scenic and historic areas along the route. Volume is 50 p. and includes folded map, 17 pencil drawings. Also includes scanned photographs of members of the Booth family.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nathaniel Booth was born in Manchester, England in 1819 to Elizabeth Smith Booth and John Booth. Nathaniel had two brothers, James Astley Booth and Thomas Booth. Around 1825, the Booth Family emigrated from England to the United States. Nathaniel married Dorcas A. Shaffer, sister of Catherine Elizabeth Shaffer who married James Astley Booth in 1850.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nathaniel Booth Collection contains a travel Diary of the Booths, husband and wife, who traveled from Rhinebeck, New York, as far west as Toronto and Hamilton, Canada. The 50-page diary notes encounters with a storm while crossing Lake Ontario, native peoples, and customs officials, and seeing Niagara Falls. Also included are a Halls Bridge vicinity map, and 17 pencil drawings of scenic and historic areas along the route.

Also in the collection are several Scanned photographs of various members of the Booth family, including his wife, parents, and brother.


Arrangement of the Collection

The scanned photographs in the collection are arranged alphabetically by the subject's name.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Booth, Nathaniel, fl. 1865.

Subjects

Travelers -- Diaries.

Places

Canada -- Description and travel.
New York (State) -- Description and travel -- 19th century.
Niagara Falls (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nathaniel Booth Diary
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1962.

Scanned photographs donated by David J. Ramsay, 2002.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia

Scanned Photographs


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 62, Folder 1 Diary 1865 - includes folded map, 17 pencil drawings
Scanned Photographs
SC 62, Folder 2 Booth, Catherine Elizabeth Shaffer
SC 62, Folder 2 Booth, Dorcas A. Shaffer
SC 62, Folder 2 Booth, Elizabeth Smith
SC 62, Folder 2 Booth, James Astley
SC 62, Folder 2 Booth, John
SC 62, Folder 2 Booth, Nathaniel