Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ilya Bolotowsky Manuscripts

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 Jun 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bolotowsky, Ilya, 1907-1981.
Title: Ilya Bolotowsky Manuscripts
Dates: 1962-1965
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Russian-American abstract painter and playwright. Collection contains typescripts for five plays.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ilya Bolotowsky (1907-1981) was a Russian-American abstract painter and writer. Born in St. Petersburg, he emigrated to the United States in 1923 where he studied at the National Academy of Design and became associated with a group of artists known as "The Ten," which included Louis Schanker, Adolph Gottlieb, Mark Rothko and Joseph Solman. By 1936 he had turned to painting geometric abstractions and was one of the founders of the American Abstract Artists cooperative. In addition to his own art, he taught at Black Mountain College and at Long Island University.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ilya Bolotowsky Manuscripts consists of typescripts for five plays by Bolotowsky. Titles are Lofts, A Neurotic Lion, Shadowcave ("A Dramatic Essay"), Sixty Fifth Parallel (includes separate prologue), and Visitation.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Additional Ilya Bolotowsky material may be found in the Edward Millman Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bolotowsky, Ilya, 1907-1981.

Subjects

Art, Abstract.
Dramatists, American -- 20th century.
Dramatists, Russian -- 20th century.
Painters -- Russia.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ilya Bolotowsky Manuscripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1966.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 550 Plays 1962-1965
Lofts
A Neurotic Lion
Shadowcave ("A Dramatic Essay")
Sixty Fifth Parallel (includes separate prologue)
Visitation