Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Leonard Bocour Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: ASE
Date: Jun 1994

Biographical History

American art collector, businessman, founder of Bocour Artist Colors Incorporated.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1953 to 1964, the Leonard Bocour Papers consists of biographical material and correspondence of the paint manufacturer, lecturer, art collector, artist, and founder of Bocour Artist Colors Incorporated (b. 1910). Comprised of incoming letters, outgoing typescript carbons, and paint orders, the Correspondence-Subject Files documents Bocour's personal and professional relationships with various art organizations and artists (Walter Burt Adams, David Aronson, George Biddle, Aaron Bohrod, Warren Brandt, Alexander Brook, Lawrence Calcagno, Bernard Chaet, David C. Driskell, Jo Hopper, Walter Kamys, Rockwell Kent, Herman Maril, Edward Millman, Gregorio Prestopino, Walter Quirt, and others).

Arrangement of the Collection

Collection is arranged alphabetically by correpondent's last name.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Aaron Bohrod Papers.

Subject Headings


Adams, Walter Burt.
Aronson, David, 1923-2015.
Bocour, Leonard, 1910-1993.
Bohrod, Aaron.
Brandt, Warren, 1918-2002.
Brook, Alexander, 1898-1980.
Calcagno, Lawrence, 1913-1993.
Chaet, Bernard.
Driskell, David C.
Maril, Herman.
Prestopino, Gregorio.
Quirt, Walter, 1902-1968.

Corporate Bodies

Bocour Artist Colors Incorporated.


Art -- Collectors and collecting.
Paint industry and trade -- United States.

Genres and Forms


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leonard Bocour Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Biographical Material

Correspondence-subject files