Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Howard Boatwright Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 29 Sep 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Boatwright, Howard.
Title: Howard Boatwright Collection
Dates: circa 1975-1985
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Compositions by musician Howard Boatwright
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Howard Boatwright (1918-1999) was an American composer, violinist and musicologist. He served as Dean of the school of music at Syracuse University, and taught composition and theory. Under his leadership the music school became an important center for composition and the performance of new music, introduced non-Western music to the curriculum, and expanded its early music programs by acquiring collections of antique instruments. He was a Fulbright lecturer in India (1959-1960) and received a Fulbright grant to study in Romania (1971-1972). He also wrote extensively on music theory, ethnomusicology, Charles Ives, and Paul Hindemith.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Howard Boatwright Collection contains compositions by the American composer, violinist and musicologist, as well as a sizable number of commercial recordings of his work.


Arrangement of the Collection

Compositions are arranged alphabetically by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Boatwright, Howard.

Subjects

Composers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiorecordings.
Musical scores.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Howard Boatwright Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

"Ship of Death" copies, unknown, 2004; remainder, gift of Thomas Baker, 2017.


Table of Contents

Scores

Recordings


Inventory

Scores
Oversize 1 The armadillo and the acorn - possibly incomplete
Oversize 1 On hearing the birds sing
Oversize 1 O waly, waly!
Oversize 1 The ship of death set for soprano, alto, tenor and bass (baritone) and string quartet - one copy appears to be voice only (5 copies)
Oversize 1 Six prayers of Kierkegaard set for soprano and piano 1978
Recordings
Commercial recordings have been cataloged. Please use the Classic Catalog to locate these items.