Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Don Blanding Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 14 Mar 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Don Blanding Collection
Dates: 1932-1962
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American journalist and poet. Collection contains correspondence from Blanding to John S, Mayfield and a few others; photographs of Blanding and Mayfield; clippings and biographical material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Donald Benson Blanding (1894-1957) was an American poet, sometimes described as "poet laureate of Hawaii." He was also a journalist, cartoonist, author and speaker.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Don Blanding Collection consists of correspondence, memorabilia and writings. The material appears to have been collected by John S. Mayfield.

Correspondence is primarily between Blanding and his friend, librarian and bibliographer John S. Mayfield. There are also some letters from Blanding to unidentified recipients.

Memorabilia consists of biographical information, both handwritten and published (the latter from Blanding's publisher Dodd, Mead & Company) and a few personal photographs of Blanding and Mayfield.

Writings contains a humorous sketch by Blanding and two handwritten poems, both written at Mayfield's house in 1932.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Several books by Blanding are available in the Rare Books and in the general circulating collection; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.


Subject Headings

Persons

Blanding, Don, 1894-1957.
Mayfield, John S., 1904-1983.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
American poetry -- Hawaii.

Places

Hawaii -- Poetry.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.
Poems.
Sketches.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Don Blanding Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Writings


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Mayfield, John S. 1932-1937, 1940-1948, 1955-1956 - occasionally addresses Mayfield by nickname "Bear Claw"
Box 1 Unidentified undated
Memorabilia
Box 1 Biographical material 1932, 1962
Box 1 Photographs 1932 - Blanding and Mayfield
Writings
Box 1 Poems 1932
Box 1 Sketch, "Mao of Route to Sun" circa 1932 - apparently of area near Taos, New Mexico