Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Isaac Blanchard Letter

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 18 May 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Blanchard, Isaac.
Title: Isaac Blanchard Letter
Dates: 1843
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Isaac Blanchard, Millerite, to Mary Elizabeth Chase of Hopkinton, New Hampshire, regarding the biblical basis for the second coming of Christ in approximately 1843.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Millerites were followers of the teachings of American Baptist preacher William Miller. Miller, a self-taught Biblical scholar from New York State, is credited with initiating the Christian movement known as Adventism. His followers of the time believed that the Second Coming of Jesus Christ would take place in or around 1843.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Isaac Blanchard Letter consists of a single letter from Isaac Blanchard, Millerite, to Mary Elizabeth Chase of Hopkinton, New Hampshire. The letter is an elaborate exegesis of the biblical basis for the second coming of Christ in approximately 1843 and reflects the Millerite view of the world.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Blanchard, Isaac.

Subjects

Adventists -- History -- 19th century.
Millennialism -- History of doctrines -- 19th century.
Millerite movement.
Second Advent.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Isaac Blanchard Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 659 Chase, Mary Elizabeth 1 Jan 1843