Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James G. Blaine Letterbook

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 20 Oct 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Blaine, James Gillespie, ‡d 1830-1893.
Title: James G. Blaine Letterbook
Dates: 1872-1874
Quantity: 1 volume.
Abstract: Correspondence and clippings related to the legislator from Maine.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James G. Blaine (1830-1893) was an American politician and legislator from Maine. He served as Representative (1863-1876), Speaker of the House (1869-1875), and twice as Secretary of State (1881, 1889-1892)


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James G. Blaine Letterbook consists of a single volume containing copies of letters and clippings from various newspapers.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single bound volume


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Blaine, James Gillespie, 1830-1893.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Congress. -- House.

Subjects

Cabinet officers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.

Occupations

Legislators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James G. Blaine Letterbook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles Kohen, 1962.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Letterbook 1872-1874