Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Wheeler Blackwell Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1988

Revision history:
12 Jan 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Blackwell, Wheeler.
Title: Wheeler Blackwell Papers
Dates: 1852-1889
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Wheeler Blackwell was a jeweler from Lodi, New York. Collection contains correspondence, memorabilia, printed material, and postcards.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Internal evidence of the collection suggests that Wheeler Blackwell was a jeweler in Lodi, New York in the late 19th century.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Wheeler Blackwell Papers consists of correspondence, memorabilia, printed material, and postcards.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is in chronological order within series.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Blackwell, Wheeler.

Subjects

Business enterprises -- New York (State) -- History.
Jewelers -- New York (State)

Places

Lodi (N.Y.) -- Commerce.
Lodi (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Circulars (fliers)
Correspondence.
Postcards.

Occupations

Jewelers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Wheeler Blackwell Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift, 1980-1981.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Printed material

Postcards


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Personal 1852-1886, undated (5 folders)
Box 1 Business 1881-1889
Memorabilia
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1876-1880, undated
Printed material
Box 1 Advertising circulars, general 1875-1883, undated
Box 1 Advertising circulars, watches and clocks 1880-1885, undated
Postcards
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1875-1886, undated