Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Binghamton Housing Project Photograph Album

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Sep 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Binghamton Housing Project Photograph Album
Dates: 1940s
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Photograph album documenting creation of a housing development in Binghamton, New York. Photos include people as well as construction; unfortunately, none are captioned.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Binghamton is a city in, and the county seat of, Broome County, New York. From the early days of the railroad industry, Binghamton was a transportation crossroads and a manufacturing center, and has been known at different times for the production of cigars, shoes (Endicott Johnson), and computers (IBM).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Binghamton Housing Project Photograph Album consists of a large photograph album containing black-and-white photographs documenting the creation of a housing development in Binghmamton, New York. The photographs are of people as well as construction, but unfortunately none are captioned. The album was evidently stored somewhere damp at some time, and does have a musty odor.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume, original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

City planning -- New York (State)
Dwellings -- United States.
Housing -- New York (State)

Places

Binghamton (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Binghamton Housing Project Photograph Album,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Oversize 1 Photograph album 1940s