Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

E. Thomas Billard Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: PJM
Date: 13 Dec 2016



Biographical History

Edmund Thomas Billard (1946- ) is a former American military officer, a native of McLean, New York and a 1981 MBA graduate from Syracuse University. He was born in Catskill, NY.

Following his graduation from Cornell University in June 1968, Billard enlisted in the Army in July 1968. He attended Basic and Advanced Infantry Training at Fort Dix, New Jersey and then Engineer Officer Candidate School (OCS) at Fort Belvoir, Virginia. Following completion of the Engineer OCS course in June 1969, he received a commission in Military Intelligence and was assigned to the Army Security Agency. He served with the 82nd Airborne Division at Fort Bragg, North Carolina and volunteered to go to Vietnam, where he served from August 1970 to May 1971. While serving in Vietnam, Billard, in addition to writing traditional letters, sent a number of voice tapes recording his observations and travels during his tour of duty. Following the completion of his military service commitment, Billard left the Army in May 1971.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The E. Thomas Billard Papers includes audio cassette recordings, correspondence, photographs and other memorabilia from Billard's service in Vietnam.

Correspondence includes both written letters and audio recordings between Billard and his family in Upstate New York.

Memorabilia includes photographs.

Miscellaneous includes military documents relating to Billard's service.


Arrangement of the Collection

Collection is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed off site and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Billard, E. Thomas.

Subjects

Soldiers' writings, American.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975.

Places

Australia, Southeastern.
Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam)
Upstate New York (N.Y.)
Vietnam.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Correspondence.
Military records.
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

E. Thomas Billard Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of E. Thomas Billard, 2015.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia


Inventory