Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Samuel E. Bilik Typescript

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bilik, Samuel Ernest, 1890-
Title: Samuel E. Bilik Typescript
Dates: circa 1953
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Typescript of 9th edition of The Trainers Bible, with author's annotations and corrections for 10th edition
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Samuel Ernest Bilik (1890 or 1893-1962) was an American physician specializing in sports medicine. According to the National Athletic Trainers' Association (NATA), he "was one of the earliest medical doctors to devote his time to athletic injuries." He wrote the first edition of The Trainers Bible at age 21, and is in the NATA Hall of Fame.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Samuel E. Bilik Typescript consists of a typescript of the 9th edition of Bilik's book The Trainers Bible, with the author's annotations and corrections for the 10th edition.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bilik, Samuel Ernest, 1890-

Associated Titles

The trainers bible.

Subjects

Sports injuries -- Prevention.
Sports medicine.

Genres and Forms

Typescripts.

Occupations

Authors.
Physicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Samuel E. Bilik Typescript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Gene Bilik, 1973.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Box 1 Trainers Bible - typescript