Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Meta C. Biddle Account Book

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 Jul 2010

Revision history:
5 Nov 2012 updated bio (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Biddle, Meta C.
Title: Meta C. Biddle Account Book
Dates: 1868-1878
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Account book of estate of Meta C. Biddle and trusts for Adele Biddle and Jane Biddle, all of Pennsylvania, probably Philadelphia, recording income from investments and expenses of each.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Meta Craig Biddle (1825-1913) was the eldest daughter of Nicholas and Jane Craig Biddle; she had two younger sisters, Adele (1828-1909) and Jane (1830-1915). Meta married her cousin, Lt. James Stokes Biddle (1818-1900) of Philadelphia, with whome she had three children: Nicholas (1850-1888), Jane Craig (1847-1922), and Meta Craig (1853-1934). According to the Philadelphia Social Register of 1904, the couple lived at 1714 Locust Street in Philadelphia.

[Sources: gravestone transcriptions from St. Peter's Churchyard at 4th and Pine St., Philadelphia, available online at http://www.yankeecemetery.com/st_peters Philadelphia.htm; The life and works of Thomas Sully 1783-1872 (Philadelphia:1921); researcher Connie Houchin.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Meta C. Biddle Account Book consists of one volume, an account book of estate of Meta C. Biddle and trusts for Adele Biddle and Jane Biddle, recording income from investments and expenses of each. The volume is handwritten and 144 pages.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single bound volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Biddle family.
Biddle, Adele, 1828-1909.
Biddle, Jane, 1830-1915.
Biddle, Meta C., 1825-1918.

Subjects

Administration of estates -- United States -- 19th century.

Places

Philadelphia (Pa.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Meta C. Biddle Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1966.


Table of Contents

Financial records


Inventory

Financial records
Volume MV-13 Account book 1868-1978