Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ted Berrigan Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: June 1987

Revision history:
13 Sep 2006 converted to EAD (AMCon)
16 Jul 2012 LCNAF updates (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Berrigan, Ted
Title: Ted Berrigan Papers
Dates: 1963-1964
Quantity: .75 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American poet and editor, 1934-1983. Correspondence, manuscript submissions, and production records relating to C, a poetry journal which Berrigan edited. Incoming correspondence and/or manuscripts of John Ashbery, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Michael Benedikt, Jim Brodey, Joseph Ceravolo, Robert Dash, Edwin Denby, Ted Greenwald, Barbara Guest, Ruth Krauss, Gerard Malanga, Gregory J. Markopoulos, Frank O'Hara, Ron Padgett, Peter Schjeldahl, James Schuyler, Lorenzo Thomas, Sotère Torregian, Tony Towle, and John Wieners.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Born in 1934 in Providence, Rhode Island, poet Ted Berrigan attended the University of Tulsa in Oklahoma. He was a second-generation member of the New York school of poets, and along with Ron Padgett, published a small literary magazine, C, during 1963 and 1964. He taught at Yale University, the Iowa Writers Workshop, the University of Michigan, and Essex University in England, and also served as poet-in-residence at the City College of New York. Among his published volumes of poetry are The Sonnets (1964), Bean Spasms: Collaborations by Ted Berrigan and Ron Padgett (1967), In the Early Morning Rain (1971), The Drunken Boat (1974), and So Going Around Cities (1980). He died in 1983.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ted Berrigan Papers consist entirely of the files for C, a journal of poetry which Berrigan edited during 1963 and 1964. The papers include a Subject file containing copyright certificates, distribution lists, financial records, and an essay written about the journal by Berrigan. The Editorial files contain incoming correspondence from both financial and literary contributors to the journal, and a collection of manuscripts which were submitted to the editor for publication. The Production records include the dummy sheets for no. 1-7, May 1963-Feb. 1964 for C.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ashbery, John, 1927-
Baraka, Imamu Amiri, 1934-
Benedikt, Michael, 1935-2007.
Berrigan, Ted.
Brodey, Jim.
Ceravolo, Joseph, 1934-
Dash, Robert.
Denby, Edwin, 1903-1983.
Greenwald, Ted.
Guest, Barbara.
Krauss, Ruth.
Malanga, Gerard.
Markopoulos, Gregory J.
O'Hara, Frank, 1926-1966.
Padgett, Ron.
Schjeldahl, Peter.
Schuyler, James.
Thomas, Lorenzo, 1944-2005.
Torregian, Sotère.
Towle, Tony, 1939-
Wieners, John, 1934-

Associated Titles

C, a journal of poetry.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Periodical editors -- United States.
Periodicals -- Publishing.
Poets, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Editors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ted Berrigan Papers,
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1964.


Table of Contents

Subject file

Editorial files

Production records


Inventory

Subject file
Box 1 Copyright certificates
Box 1 Distribution lists
Box 1 Financial miscellany
Box 1 Manuscripts submitted - list for issues 2-5
Box 1 "Some notes about C" by Ted Berrigan May 1964
Editorial files
Incoming correspondence
Box 1 A-Z
Box 1 Aldan, Daisy
Box 1 Aldrich, Larry
Box 1 Ashbery, John
Box 1 Baraka, Imamu Amiri
Box 1 Bearden, David Omer
Box 1 Benedikt, Michael
Box 1 Berkson, Bill
Box 1 Brodey, Jim
Box 1 Burckhardt, Rudy
Box 1 Byron, Stuart
Box 1 Caplan, Ronald
Box 1 Cott, Jonathan
Box 1 Dash, Robert
Box 1 Denby, Edwin
Box 1 Dupee, F.W. (Frederick Wilcox)
Box 1 Elmslie, Kenward
Box 1 Fainlight, Harry
Box 1 Fraser, Kathleen
Box 1 Greenwald, Ted
Box 1 Guest, Barbara
Box 1 Jensen, Alfred
Box 1 Johns, Jasper
Box 1 Kelly, Robert
Box 1 Koch, Kenneth
Box 1 Kolmar, Richard
Box 1 Krauss, Ruth
Box 1 Laughlin, James
Box 1 Le Sueur, Joe
Box 1 Levy, D.A.
Box 1 Linder, Carl
Box 1 Locke, Duane
Box 1 Malanga, Gerard
Box 1 Markopoulos, Gregory J.
Box 1 Mathews, Harry
Box 1 May, James Boyer
Box 1 Merrill, James Ingram
Box 1 Moore, Marianne
Box 1 Morse, Carl
Box 1 Myers, John
Box 1 O'Hara, Frank
Box 1 Padgett, Ron
Box 1 Perreault, John
Box 1 Picard, Lil
Box 1 Rosten, Norman
Box 1 Rothenberg, Jerome
Box 1 Schjeldahl, Peter
Box 1 Schuyler, James
Box 1 Simon, Adelaide
Box 1 Sonnenberg, Benjamin
Box 1 Stuerman, Walter Earl
Box 1 Thomas, Lorenzo
Box 1 Torregian, Sotere
Box 1 Wagstaff, Samuel J.
Box 1 Weidman, Jerome
Box 1 Wieners, John
Box 1 Wilcock, John
Box 1 Zukofsky, Louis
Manuscripts
Box 1 Anonymous
Box 1 Ashbery, John
Box 1 Baraka, Imamu Amiri
Box 1 Brodey, Jim
Box 1 Ceravolo, Joseph
Box 1 Dash, Robert
Box 1 Denby, Edwin
Box 1 Elmslie, Kenward
Box 1 Gallup, Dick
Box 1 Geldzahler, Henry
Box 1 Guest, Barbara
Box 1 Krauss, Ruth
Box 1 Lima, Frank
Box 1 Malanga, Gerard
Box 1 O'Hara, Frank (?)
Box 1 Perreault, John
Box 1 Schuyler, James
Box 1 Thomas, Lorenzo
Box 1 Torregian, Sotere
Box 1 Towle, Tony
Box 1 Wieners, John
Production records
Dummy sheets
Box 2 no. 1 May 1963
Box 2 no. 2 June 1963
Box 2 no. 3 July/Aug. 1963
Box 2 no. 4 Sept. 1963
Box 2 no. 5 Oct./Nov. 1963
Box 2 no. 6 Dec. 1963/Jan. 1964
Box 2 no. 7 Feb. 1964