Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Berkeley Park Brochures

A description of the items at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Feb 2007

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Berkeley Park Brochures
Dates: circa 1911
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Maps and marketing brochures for Berkeley Park, a restricted housing development on University Hill in Syracuse, New York
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Berkeley Park is a forty-one acre residential subdivision in Syracuse, New York, designed in 1911 by the architect and developer, Clarence S. Congdon. The northern boundary is Stratford Street; the eastern boundary is the rear property lines of the residential lots on the west side of Ackerman Avenue; the southern boundary is the north end of properties belonging to Morningside Cemetery and the City of Syracuse; the western boundary is formed by Comstock Avenue. Located on a drumlin, the subdivision was designed to follow the natural contours of the land and capitalize on the views provided by the elevation. Construction was restricted to residential homes valued at no less than $5000. Berkeley Park is a distinctive example of an early-twentieth century residential subdivision.

The area today is a designated Historic District.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Berkeley Park Brochures consists of two marketing brochures touting the advantageous location and high-class environment ("Berkeley Park will never have a saloon within its borders. Nor a store, nor a livery stable, nor a public garage, nor any other business structure necessary as they all are in their proper place. They are often unsightly and disagreeable.") Each has a map of the general area, one with lot numbers.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Congdon, Clarence S.

Corporate Bodies

Berkeley Park (Syracuse, New York)
Berkeley Park (Syracuse, New York)

Subjects

Housing development, New York (State), Syracuse

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.), History
Syracuse (N.Y.), Maps
Syracuse (N.Y.), Nineteen tens
Syracuse (N.Y.), Social life and customs

Genres and Forms

Brochures.

Occupations

Advertising

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Berkeley Park Brochures,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 2007.


Table of Contents

Printed material


Inventory

Printed material
SC 183 Brochures undated, ca. 1911