Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Paul Bergevin Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: HG
Date: 17 Oct 2007

Biographical History

Paul Bergevin was an American educator and author, co-developer of the Participation Training Institute, and Director of the Purdue-Indiana University Community Services in Adult Education. He is the author or co-author of a number of books, papers and articles, including Design for Adult Education in the Church (1958), Adult Education in Sweden: An Introduction (1961), Adult Education Procedures (1963), and Participation Training for Adult Education (1965).

In his A Philosophy For Adult Education (1967), Bergevin summarizes twenty-two beliefs that are the basis for adult education, including "Adult education should be designed to help people to grow up, mature" and "Adults need to live together in community in order to grow and mature, and they need to learn how to do this." The reading list at the end includes Aristotle, Thomas Jefferson, Thomas Hobbes, and Alfred North Whitehead.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Bergevin Papers consist of material relating to Bergevin's teaching and writing. The collection has not been processed.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material remains in original order as received from the donor.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings


Bergevin, Paul Emile.


Adult education.
Educators -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Manuscripts (document genre)



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Bergevin Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Paul Blair.

Table of Contents

Box list