Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 May 2010
|20 Nov 2013||processed (MRC)|
Overview of the Collection
|Creator:||Benz, Ernst, 1907-1978.|
|Title:||Ernst Benz Papers|
|Quantity:||1.75 linear ft.|
|Abstract:||German theologian. Collection consists primarily of published writings, also a small amount of of manuscripts and memorabilia.|
|Language:||Primarily German, with a few items in English, French, Japanese and Italian|
|Repository:||Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
Ernst Benz (1907-1978) was an important contemporary German theologian and a leading Western authority on Eastern Orthodoxy. He studied classical philology and archaeology at Tübingen, earning his doctorate in 1929, and later expanded his studies to Protestant theology and various esoteric forms of Christianity. He became professor of ecclesiastical and dogmatic history at the University of Marburg in 1935 and in 1946 was appointed director of its Ecumenical Seminary; he retired as Professor Emeritus in 1973. He wrote more than 50 books and 500 articles on topics ranging from Buddhism to Stoicism to the Rosicrucians, including the well-known Beschreibung des Christentums (Description of Christianity), published in 1975.
The Ernst Benz Papers consists of manuscripts, memorabilia and writings.
Manuscripts contains heavily annotated typescripts for two of Benz's books on Christian theology published in the early 1970s.
Memorabilia consists of photographs of Benz, both candid and posed, in various locations; an article about Benz; and a flyer announcing Benz's thesis defense at Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität.
Writings consists entirely of published material. The vast majority are in German and are offprints or reprints of articles and essays published in scholarly journals such as Zeitschrift für Religions- und Gesitesgeschichte or Kairos. Topics are primarily religious or theological, ranging from mysticism to early Christian theology to the religious situation in the Ukraine; there are also a small number of essays on secular topics.
In many cases, the item's cover bears the title of the journal rather than the title of the article; however, the inventory below gives the title of Benz's article or essay which may or may not appear on the cover of the item. Where an entire issue of a journal is present, rather than only one article, the inventory gives the full volume and issue information.There are also several books by Benz, or to which he contributed a chapter.
Alphabetical by type or title.
Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Benz, Ernst, 1907-1978.
Church history -- Historiography.
Hinduism -- Study and teaching.
Mysticism -- Germany.
Philosophy, German -- 20th century.
Religion -- 20th century.
Religion -- Historiography.
Religion -- Study and teaching.
Theology -- 20th century.
Theology -- Historiography.
Theology -- Study and teaching.
Genres and Forms
Clippings (information artifacts)
Manuscripts for publication.
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Ernst Benz Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Gift of Ernst Benz, 1969-1978.
|Box 1||Die heilige geist in Amerika [The Holy Ghost in America], Eugen Diederichs Verlag before 1970 - typescript with extensive corrections, emendations, annotations, additions, etc.|
|Box 1||Neue Religionen [New Religions], Taschenbuch Ausgabe before 1971 - typescript with extensive corrections, emendations, annotations, additions, etc.|
|Box 2||Ernst Benz: Wie ich ihn sehe und verstehe [Ernst Benz: As I see and understand him], by F. W. Kantzenbach 1977|
|Box 2||Photographs 1957, 1963, 1964, 1967 - candid photos of Benz in Japan, India; portrait photos from Marburg|
|Box 2||Thesis defense announcement, Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität 1931|
|A majority of the items in this series are offprints or reprints of articles or essays that appeared in scholarly journals. In many cases, the item's cover bears the title of the journal (for example, Zeitschrift für Religions- und Gesitesgeschichte) rather than the title of the article; note that the inventory below gives the title of Benz's article or essay which may or may not appear on the cover of the item. Where an entire issue of a journal is present, rather than only one article, the inventory gives the full volume and issue information.|
|About Benz and his work|
|Box 2||Bibliographie Ernst Benz 1928-1966 [Bibliography of Ernst Benz 1928-1966], excerpted from Glaube, Geist, Geschichte: Festschrift für Ernst Benz zum 60. geburtstage am 17. November 1967 by Gerhard Müller and Winfried Zeller 1967|
|Box 2||Book reviews and publicity 1969-1971, undated|
|Box 2||Christian theology 1942-1959 - offprints, reprints, booklets, etc.|
|Box 2||Christian theology 1965 - book chapter|
|Box 2||Christian theology 1967 - book|
|Box 2||Christian theology 1967-1971 - offprints, reprints, booklets, etc.|
|Box 2||Christian theology 1973-1975 - offprints, reprints, booklets, etc.|
|Box 3||Christian theology 1977-1978, undated - offprints, reprints, booklets, etc.|
|Comparative religion, Eastern and Western|
|Box 3||Comparative religion, Eastern and Western 1951-1959 - offprints, reprints, booklets, etc.|
|Box 3||Comparative religion, Eastern and Western 1966, undated - offprints, reprints, booklets, etc.|
|Box 3||Eastern religions 1958-1969, undated - offprints, reprints, booklets, etc.|
|Box 3||Eastern religions 1962 undated - book chapter|
|History of religion|
|Box 4||History of religion 1956-1961 - offprints, reprints, booklets, etc.|
|Box 4||History of religion 1959 - book chapter|
|Pagan and classical religions|
|Box 4||Pagan and classical religions 1929-1961 - offprints, reprints, booklets, etc.|
|Box 4||Pagan and classical religions 1973-1978 - offprints, reprints, booklets, etc.|
|Box 4||Religion, general 1952-1967 - offprints, reprints, booklets, etc.|
|Box 4||Religion, general 1971-1974|
|Box 4||Secular topics 1961-1978|