Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Dorothy Bennett Scrapbook


Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 14 Jul 2006

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bennett, Dorothy E.
Title: Dorothy Bennett Scrapbook
Dates: 1913-1915
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Collection of college ephemera and original photographs assembled in a scrapbook by Dorothy Bennett of Oneida, NY, during her student years at the New York State School of Agriculture in Canton, NY. Approximately 140 items.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dorothy Elizabeth Bennett of Oneida, NY attended the New York State School of Agriculture in Canton, NY and graduated with a degree in Domestic Science in 1915. The New York State School of Agriculture opened in 1906 with five students on the campus of St. Lawrence University in Canton, NY; it was eventually absorbed into the State University of New York (SUNY) system and is presently (2006) known as SUNY Canton.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dorothy Bennett Scrapbook contains more than 60 notes, invitations, letters, school material and other ephemera as well as more than 80 black and white photographs, both snapshots and formal posed shots. Photographs include "The Junior Class of 1915" and "Senior Girls May Breakfast 1914" and show classmates, laboratory and home economics sessions, teachers, school buildings and grounds, and a school play on nutrition. Social photos capture students on outdoor excursions, socializing with male students, playing tennis, going snowshoeing, and more. Ephemera comprises letters, notes, dance cards, grades, an examination booklet, place cards, receipts, clippings, invitations and more.


Arrangement of the Collection

Pages have been removed from the binder and enclosed in protective mylar. Pages are in the original order including some items which were loosely inserted between pages. For pages containing newspaper articles folded so as to prevent their being read, photocopies of the articles are included so the pages need not be removed from the mylar.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bennett, Dorothy E.

Corporate Bodies

New York State School of Agriculture

Subjects

Canton (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs.
Women Education (Higher)
Women college students -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Scrapbooks.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dorothy Bennett Scrapbook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 2006


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 169 Scrapbook 1913-1915 (2 folders)