Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Eliab C. Benjamin Diary

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Feb 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Benjamin, Eliab C.
Title: Eliab C. Benjamin Diary
Dates: 1855-1862
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Diary of Eliab C. Benjamin of Rushford, New York, possibly minister or deacon. He was evidently much involved with the First Baptist Church of Rushford.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Eliab C. Benjamin was a resident of Rushford, New York, a town in Allegany County. He was evidently much involved with the First Baptist Church of Rushford (which in turn was involved in the Underground Railroad), likely a minister and/or a deacon. His father Levi was the first deacon of the church.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eliab C. Benjamin Diary consists of a single volume spanning about eight years. Entries concern the weather, chores, visits to and from friends and family, and activities with the First Baptist Church of Rushford. Of particular interest is an entry from May 27, 1855 in which he mentioned hearing a "Collard Man" speak at another church about his escape from slavery, and there is also mention of collection of funds for a school. The collection also includes two small tintype portraits of Benjamin.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Benjamin, Eliab C.

Subjects

African Americans -- United States.
Farmers -- New York (State) -- History.
Fugitive slaves -- United States.

Places

Rushford (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.
Photographs.
Tintypes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eliab C. Benjamin Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 731 Diary 1855-1862
SC 731 Photographs - tintype portraits (2 items)