Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Aaron Benesch Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Apr 2010

Revision history:
24 Oct 2013 processed (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Benesch, Aaron G.
Title: Aaron Benesch Papers
Dates: 1889-1966 (bulk: 1945-1959)
Quantity: 0.75 linear ft.
Abstract: American journalist. Collection includes correspondence, memorabilia, clippings, writings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Aaron G. Benesch (1893-1966) was an American journalist in St. Louis and Washington, DC. for more than fifty years. Beginning as copy-boy on the St. Louis Star, he eventually became City Editor of the St. Louis Star-Times, a post he held for 17 years (1934-1951). He was associate editor of the Newhouse National News Service, head of the St. Louis Globe-Democrat's Washington Bureau (1951-1953) and later managing editor of the paper (1953-1957).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Aaron Benesch Papers consists of biographical material, correspondence, memorabilia and writings by Benesch and others.

Biographical material contains a biographical sketch (or possible a letter of recommendation), several clippings about Benesch, and a compilation of statements made about him by others, after his death.

Correspondence consists primarily of congratulatory letters on Benesch's various appointments, including managing editor of the Globe-Democrat and head of the Washington Bureau for Newhouse News. Notable correspondents include J. Edgar Hoover and Dwight D. Eisenhower.

Memorabilia includes an issue of the St. Louis Globe-Democrat from September of 1889 and a number of scrapbooks. Two scrapbooks contain clippings of Benesch's columns; the other two include photographs, letters, clippings and other items.

Writings contains clippings of Benesch's column "By the Mississippi" as well as notes on conversations, remarks prepared for Senator Addabo, and a speech given at a City Editors seminar.

Writings by others consists of a few items about journalism and newspapers.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by name or topic.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Benesch, Aaron G.

Associated Titles

St. Louis globe-democrat (Saint Louis, Mo. : 1875)
St. Louis star-times.

Subjects

Journalism -- United States.
Journalists -- United States.
Newspapers -- Missouri -- St. Louis.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Speeches.

Occupations

Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Aaron Benesch Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1967.


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Writings

Writings by others


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Biographical sketch, author unknown
Box 1 Clippings about 1946, 1951-1952, 1958
Box 1 Statements on his death 1966
Correspondence
Box 1 A
Bond, Dorothy
Box 1 Correspondence 1955
Oversize 2 Novelty trophy given to Benesch
Box 1 B-D
Box 1 Eisenhower, Dwight D. 1956, 1959 - includes letters and clippings from other newspapers about polls regarding Eisenhower's popularity
Box 1 Hoover, J. Edgar 1958-1959, 1961
Box 1 H-J
Box 1 Kennedy, John F. 1961 - press invitation to inauguration; nothing from Kennedy personally
Box 1 K-P
St. Louis Globe-Democrat
Box 1 Congratulatory, on appointment as managing editor 1953
Box 1 Editorial correspondence 1951-1957
St. Louis Star-Times
Box 1 Correspondence 1944-1947
Oversize 1 Final issue 15 Jun 1951
Box 1 S-W
Box 1 Unidentified
Memorabilia
Oversize 2 Nameplate from desk
Oversize 1 Photograph, Democratic National Convention 21 Jul 1952 - has creases/cracks from rolling/folding
Box 1 St. Louis Globe-Democrat Sep 1889 - only upper half of pages, lower half missing
Scrapbooks
Oversize 1 Clippings 1952-1957 - most are Benesch's columns from the St. Louis Globe Democrat
Oversize 1 Clippings 1957-1966 - most are Benesch's columns from various papers; the last few pages include clippings of his obituary from various publications
Oversize 1 "Aaron Benesch retires" 1 Jan 1966 - clippings, photographs, letters, telegrams, etc.
Oversize 1 "Aaron G. Benesch, Fifty plus years in the field of journalism" 1927-1954 - clippings, photographs
Writings
Oversize 2 "By the Mississippi" columns 1951
Box 1 Notes, Eisenhower interview
Box 1 Notes, Jim Connor
Box 1 Notes, TedSchafer
Box 1 Remarks, written for Senator Joseph P. Addabo 1966
Box 1 Speech, City Editors seminar, Columbia University Dec 1946
Box 1 Fragments
Writings by others
Box 1 "Readability and the individual newspaper," VIncent Jones 1950
Box 1 "Reading and newspapers," Nieman Alumni Council 1950
Box 1 Tripp questionnaire - "...opinions of 1850 to 1875 which inspired our recent symposium..."