Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ron Beckman Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 14 Mar 2016

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Beckman, Ronald H.
Title: Ron Beckman Papers
Dates: 1920-2010 [estimate]
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American industrial designer, architect, and professor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ronald H. Beckman is an American industrial designer. He was vice-president of the design firm George Nelson and Co. (whose clients included Herman Miller and General Electric), director of the Research and Design Institute (created to support economic development in New England and conduct design research to improve the quality of life), and an Associate Professor at Syracuse University. In 1967 Beckman received the first graphic design grant awarded by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) to advance highway communication and safety.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed at this time and is still actively growing.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Beckman, Ronald H.

Corporate Bodies

Herman Miller, Inc.
REDE Corp.
Research and Design Institute.

Subjects

Design, Industrial -- Environmental aspects.
Design, Industrial -- History.
Design, Industrial -- Philosophy.
Design, Industrial -- Social aspects.
Design, Industrial.
Renewable energy sources -- Research.

Genres and Forms

Catalogs.

Occupations

Industrial designers -- United States.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ron Beckman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ron Beckman.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.