Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

George Beck Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: University Archives
Date: 4 Aug 1994



Biographical History

George A. Beck (1908-1977) was an American industrial designer. He first worked for Montgomery Ward and then Sears Roebuck, but the majority of his career (more than thirty years, starting in 1934) was spent with General Electric


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Beck Papers includes notes, drawings, correspondence, reports, conference materials, public relations and marketing material, product data, slides, transparencies, models, and much more.

The collection has received minimal processing. The inventory that follows is a simple box list, and folders retain Beck's original labels and are in no particular order. Researchers are advised to read the entire inventory to ensure locating all relevant materials.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many noted industrial designers. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Beck, George A., 1908-1977.

Corporate Bodies

General Electric Company.
Industrial Designers Society of America.

Subjects

Industrial design -- United States.
Industrial designers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Brochures.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drawings.
Photographs.
Reports.
Research notes.
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Industrial designers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Beck Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from University Archives, 2000.


Table of Contents

Box 7079

Box 7080

Box 7081

Box 11799

Box 11800

Box 11801

Box 11802

Box 11803

Box 11804

Box 11805

Box 11806

Box 11807

Box 11808

Box 11809

Box 11810

Box 11811

Box 11812

Box 11813

Box 11814

Box 11815

Box 11816

Box 11817

Box 11818

Box 11819


Inventory