Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

L. Frank Baum Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1980



Biographical History

American author of children’s literature, native of Chittenango, N.Y.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

Biographical and genealogical material on the Baum and Gage families; material relating to the publishing history as well as the film and theatrical adaptations of The Wizard of Oz, including correspondence, manuscripts, reviews, publicity, and publications about Baum and Oz; photographs; and Oz memorabilia. Also, material pertaining to Russell P. MacFall and William W. Denslow.

In 1980 the varied manuscript materials pertaining to L. Frank Baum, Russell MacFall and William Denslow in the Rare Book Division were transferred to the Manuscript Division, there to be combined with other Baum materials. Graduate students Dorothy Terino and Martha Maier found their semester Oz project turning into a year of work, culminating in an exhibit and the following inventory.

To the above have been added typescripts of L. Frank Baum, Frank J. Baum and Russell P. MacFall, as well as negatives and miscellaneous oversize illustrative materials.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

W. W. Denslow Collection


Subject Headings

Persons

Baum family.
Baum, Frank Joslyn, 1883-1958.
Baum, L. Frank (Lyman Frank), 1856-1919.
Denslow, W. W. (William Wallace), 1856-1915.
Gage family.
MacFall, Russell P.

Associated Titles

Wizard of Oz.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Children’s literature -- Film and video adaptations.
Children’s literature, American.
Illustrated children’s books.
Illustrators -- United States

Genres and Forms

Book reviews.
Correspondence.
Genealogies.
Manuscripts for publication.
Memorabilia.
Obituaries.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Authors.
Illustrators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

L. Frank Baum Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Genealogy - Baum and Gage Families

Theatre and Films

Publishing

MacFall

Frank J. Baum

Fred Meyer

Miscellaneous

Denslow

Typescripts

Negatives

Oversize Illustrative Material

Books


Inventory