Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lancelot Baugh Letter

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 Apr 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Baugh, Lancelot.
Title: Lancelot Baugh Letter
Dates: 1785
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Lt. Gen. Lancelot Baugh to an unidentified recipient, written from Dublin.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lancelot Baugh (d. 1792) was a British career military officer, probably from Scotland. Rising through the ranks, he was eventually promoted to the rank of Lieutenant-General and was for many years Colonel of Her Majesty's Sixth (or Warwickshire) Regiment of Foot.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lancelot Baugh Letter consists of a single letter from Lt. Gen. Baugh to an unidentified "Sir George" on behalf of a young Irish soldier named Hill, who is in need of funds.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Baugh, Lancelot.

Corporate Bodies

Great Britain. -- Army. -- Royal Warwickshire Regiment.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lancelot Baugh Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 803 Miscellaneous 1785