Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Mark W. Batten Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1965

Revision history:
14 Jun 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Batten, Mark Wilfred.
Title: Mark W. Batten Papers
Dates: 1951-1966
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: British sculptor and author, president of Royal Society of British Sculptors, 1956-1961. Collection contains manuscript and published articles, notes, books and clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mark Wilfred Batten (1905-1993) was a British sculptor known for his skill in direct carving. One of his most famous works is The Diogenist, in Hopton-wood stone (Derbyshire marble).

Born in England on 21 Jul 1905, Batten studied at various British art schools. Although he began to experiment with sculpture on his own in 1927, learning stone carving in the granite mason's yards in Cornwall, he exhibited only drawings and paintings until he was in his thirties. In 1936 he began exhibiting his sculpture, including a show at the Royal Academy in 1939. During World War II he served in the Life Guards but quickly returned to his art, exhibiting widely and receiving many commissions for sculpture for public buildings. Batten was President of the Royal Society of British Sculptors (1956-1961) and wrote several books and numerous articles on sculpture.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mark W. Batten Papers contains correspondence, manuscripts and published material.

Correspondence consists of a single outgoing letter by Batten.

Manuscripts contains articles, portions of a book, captions, notes, a speech, several unidentified manuscripts and related materials.

Published material includes articles by and about Batten, copies of his books, and newspapers clippings by and about Batten and his work.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by type and within that by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Batten, Mark Wilfred.
Royal Society of British Sculptors.

Subjects

Art, Modern -- 20th century.
Sculptors -- Great Britain.
Sculpture -- 20th century.
Sculpture -- Technique.
Sculpture, Modern -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mark W. Batten Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mark W. Batten, 1965.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Manuscripts

Published material


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Outgoing undated
Manuscripts
Articles
Box 1 "The artist is still tied to a craft" circa 1957-1958
Box 1 "The case for direct carving" 1958
Box 1 "The cult of experimentation for its own sake"
Box 1 "Fashion in art"
Box 1 "International Congress of the Arts (Dubrovnik)" 1957
Box 1 "Originality can be something other than stunts with technique"
Box 1 "Sculpture as a contemporary outlook" circa 1955-1956
Box 1 "Sculpture" - article in Modham's Companion Encyclopedia
Box 1 "What sculpture is"
Articles and notes
Box 1 "A rational basis for my aesthetic opinions"
Books
Box 1 Chapter I, "Considering Sculpture in General and Stone Sculpture in Particular," from Direct Carving in Stone
Book reviews
Box 1 In the Studio Nov 1956
Captions
Box 1 for article, "Authentication and dating of ancient Greeks"
Box 1 for book, Direct Carving in Stone
Notes
Box 1 Various
Speeches
Box 1 Untitled (1 item)
Unidentified
Box 1 Manuscripts, untitled (2 folders)
Published material
Articles about
Box 1 Various 1952-1953, 1960, 1963 (3 folders)
Articles by
Box 1 A better way to approach sculpture 1951, 1961-1962
Books
Box 1 Direct Carving in Stone 1966 (2 copies)
Box 1 Stone Sculpture 1957
Box 1 Stone Sculpture by Direct Carving 1957
Newspaper clippings
Box 1 About 1951-1952, 1959, undated
Box 1 By 1956