Collection inventory


Finding Aids

J. M. Barrie Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 23 Aug 2007

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Barrie, J. M. (James Matthew), 1860-1937
Title: J. M. Barrie Letter
Dates: 1919
Quantity: 1 letter (SC)
Abstract: Letter from J.M. Barrie about press cuttings for one of his plays
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

J. M. Barrie (1860-1937) was a Scottish journalist, playwright and author. Although best known for his children's book Peter Pan, he also wrote a number of plays and novels for adults. His friends and acquaintances included H.G. Wells, George Bernard Shaw, Arthur Conan Doyle and P.G. Wodehouse. In 1913 he was made a baronet and in 1922 he received the Order of Merit; he also served as lord rector of St. Andrew's University (1919-1922) and chancellor of Edinburgh University (1930-1937).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The J. M. Barrie Letter consists of a single letter from Barrie, dated 16 Dec 1919, concerning press cuttings for one of his plays.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Barrie, J. M. (James Matthew), 1860-1937.

Subjects

Authors, Scottish -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

J. M. Barrie Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 200 1919