Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Halsey V. Barrett Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: unknown

Revision history:
20 Aug 2013 minor format fixes (MRC)
28 Jun 2017 films processed, descriptions expanded (BS)
29 Aug 2017 rehoused, inventory updated (MS)
10 Nov 2017 OS 3 added (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Barrett, Halsey V.
Title: Halsey V. Barrett Papers
Dates: 1938-1981
Quantity: 6 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers contain clippings, correspondence, photographs, and political memorabilia from Halsey V. Barrett as well his small film collection. Halsey V. Barrett was co-founder of the American Television Society, an early sales executive for the Columbia Broadcasting System and a key member of the Television Plans Board for the 1952 and 1956 Eisenhower presidential campaigns. Extent of coverage varies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Halsey V. Barrett was co-founder of the American Television Society, an early sales executive for the Columbia Broadcasting System and a key member of the Television Plans Board for the 1952 and 1956 Eisenhower presidential campaigns. In the 1980s he was president of Special Situations Ltd., a business brokerage in New York. He served in World War II and is the author of Experiences Aboard the First Ship Sunk In the D-Day Invasion of France.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Halsey V. Barret Papers consists of the personal papers amd memorabilia of the American television executive. Correspondence-subject files includes Columbia Broadcasting System (CBS), Federal Communication Commission (FCC), National Broadcasting Corporation (NBC), the Eisenhower TV Plans Board, photographs, mailing lists, clippings, an essay entitled "The Influence of Television on the 1952 Election," and an "I LIKE IKE" official Eisenhower delegate hat. Films are 16mm reels and include episodes of Cavalcade of America, This is Your Music, and others.


Arrangement of the Collection

This collection has been only minimally processed and the inventory below is an incomplete box listing.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of television-related collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing


Subject Headings

Persons

Barrett, Halsey V.
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969.

Corporate Bodies

American Television Society.
Columbia Broadcasting System, inc.

Associated Titles

Cavalcade of America.
This is your music.

Subjects

Advertising, political -- United States.
Political campaigns.
Television broadcasting -- United States.
Television in politics -- United States.

Genres and Forms

16mm.
Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographic film (photographic materials)
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Halsey V. Barrett Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Halsey V. Barrett.


Table of Contents

Correspondence-subject files

Memorabilia

Writings

Films


Inventory

Correspondence-subject files
Box 1 Correspondence 1947, 1951-1953, 1955-1956, 1958-1959, 1981
Box 1 American Television Society
Box 1 Color TV
Box 1 Columbia Broadcasting System (CBS) (4 folders)
Box 2 Columbia Broadcasting System (CBS) (cont.)
Box 2 Daytime TV
Box 2 DuMont
Box 2 Dunla (?), Orrine
Box 2 FCC 8736, 8975, 8976, 9175 1949
Box 2 FCC 6780 / Promulgation of Rules and Regulations 1945
Box 2 FCC 7896 / Hearings (2 folders)
Box 2 General Television Committee for Pooled Coverage of Republican and Democratic National Conventions 1948
Box 2 Gould, Jack
See also New York Times.
Box 3 Marketing
Box 3 NARTB [National Association of Radio and Television Broadcasters]
Box 3 National Association of Radio Station Representatives
Box 3 National Broadcasting System (NBC)
See also Sarnoff, David.
Box 3 New York Times
See also Gould, Jack.
Box 3 R.C.A.
Box 3 Sarnoff, David
See also NBC.
Box 3 Satellite TV
Oversize 3 Satellite TV - issue of New York Times, on topic
Box 3 Society of Motion Picture Engineers, Inc.
Box 3 Television Broadcasting Association
Box 3 Television Bureau of Advertising, Inc.
Box 3 United States Television Manufacturing Corporation
Memorabilia
Box 3 "Agenda" Jack Denove Productions
Box 3 American Research Bureau
Box 2 Barrett, Halsey V. - clippings about
See also Scrapbook pages, below.
Box 3 CBS Color TV - clippings about
Box 3 Certificate of appreciation
Box 3 Dinner invitations
Eisenhower
Oversize 1 Campaign hat, "I LIKE IKE"
TV Plans Board
Box 3 Confidential memos 1951-1952, 1960
Box 3 Correspondence 1955-1956
Box 3 Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 3 The Influence of Television on the 1952 Election
Box 3 List of potential TV speakers
Box 3 Mailing lists
Box 3 Map, "Television Stations Across the United States," from 1951-52 Broadcasting article January 28, 1952
Box 4 "New Directions for Television," Television Talk
Box 4 Photographs
Oversize 2 Scrapbook pages 1938-1942, 1944-1946 - many with clippings (10 folders)
Box 4 Scrapbook pages 1947-1952, 1956 - many with clippings (4 folders)
Box 4 Telecast November 1969
Box 4 Television Broadcasters Association, 2nd Television Conference, New York October 10-11, 1956
Box 4 Television Planning in the 1952 Eisenhower Campaign
Box 4 "Television Talk," NBC Television 1946 - glossary of televion engineering and production terms
Box 4 Witting, Chris J. 1949 - clippings
Box 4 World Series [1947?] - photographs
Writings
Box 4 Articles by Barrett
Films
Box 4 Film ephemera - paper items associated with barrett_hv_020 and barrett_hv_003
Cavalcade of America
Crazy Judah (Cavalcade of America series) 3900 (Film: 16mm) (ID#: barrett_hv_010)
The Hostage (Cavalcade of America series) (Film: 16mm) (ID#: barrett_hv_001)
A Man's Home Part 1 (Cavalcade of America series) (Film: 16mm) (ID#: barrett_hv_011)
Margin for Victory 10 Jan 1957 - associated ephemera (two-page packet) housed in a folder in Box 4 (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_020)
The Marine Who Was 200 Years Old (Cavalcade of America series) (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_012)
The Marine Who Was 200 Years Old (Print #1) (Cavalcade of America series) (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_013)
The Marine Who Was 200 Years Old (Print #6) (Cavalcade of America series) 4 Jan 1955, 10 Jan 1957 (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_014)
Night Call (Cavalcade of America series) (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_015)
Night Call (Print #9) (Cavalcade of America series) Dec. 8, 1954 (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_016)
The Ship That Shook the World (Cavalcade of America series) (Film: 16mm) (ID#: barrett_hv_002)
Take Off Zero (Cavalcade of America series) (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_017)
That They May Live (Print #1) (Cavalcade of America series), Jack Denove Prod. - associated ephemera (two-page packet) housed in a folder in Box 4. (Film: 16mm) (ID#: barrett_hv_003)
Young Andy Jackson (Cavalcade of America series), Jack Denove Prod. Jan 1957 - includes a two-page packet entitled, "The Jack Denove Story: STORYBOARD TO CELLULOID -- The Way You Want It ; 'A guy who has been through the advertising mill and who has then mastered film techniques, is an unbeatable combination.'" (Film: 16mm) (ID#: barrett_hv_004)
The Christophers: A Link in the Chain C3387 (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_021)
Modern Romances 10/12/1956 (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_022)
Smyrna Incident (U.S. Navy) 3210-1 (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_018)
Steve Donovan, Texas Ranger (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_019)
This is Your Music
Academy Awards Pt. #4 (This is Your Music series), Jan Prod. 5000-3 (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_005)
Academy Awards Pt. #15 (This is Your Music series), Jan Prod. 5000-3 (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_006)
Academy Awards Pt. #18 (This is Your Music series), Jan Prod. 5000-3 - includes folded 8.5 x 11” sheet of paper with printed or photocopied article from The Billboard Television Review about "This Is Your Music (TV Film)," with a highlighted quote, "...probably the best musical show ever done either live or on film for television" (Film: 16mm, b/w) (ID#: barrett_hv_007)
Latin American Show - Pt. #12 (This is Your Music series), Jan Prod. 5000-6 (Film: 16mm) (ID#: barrett_hv_008)
Gay Nineties (Print #6) (This is Your Music series), Jan Prod. 5000-4 (Film: 16mm) (ID#: barrett_hv_009)