Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James Barnes Letters

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1993-08-03

Revision history:
23 Aug 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Barnes, James,d. 1865.
Title: James Barnes Letters
Dates: 1862-1865
Quantity: 52 items
Abstract: Papers of the Civil War soldier of the 146th Regiment, New York State Volunteers. Died at Washington Street Hospital, Petersburg, Virginia.
Abstract: Chiefly his correspondence to his wife, Catherine Barnes (1862-1865). Other correspondents to Mrs. Barnes are William T. Tull, chaplain at the Washington Street Hospital and Arthur B. Johnson.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Barnes was a Civil War soldier with the 146th Regiment N.Y.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Barnes Letters consist of letters from the Civil War soldier to his wife Catharine from army camps and hospitals in Virginia and Washington, D.C.. The letters describe the day-to-day life of a Civil War soldier and the movements of his regiment, with a few brief accounts of unidentified battles. Two letters from a chaplain at Washington St. Hospital, Petersburg, Va., to Mrs. Barnes announce her husband's death and give further details.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Barnes, Catherine.
Johnson, Arthur B.
Tull, William T.

Corporate Bodies

United States., Army., History, Civil War, 1861-1865.
United States., Army., New York Infantry Regiment, 146th (1862-1865)

Subjects

Soldiers, New York.

Places

United States, History, Civil War, 1861-1865.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Barnes Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 2 1862-1865