Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

O. T. Barck Historical Lithograph and Manuscript Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Nov 2010



Biographical History

Oscar Theodore Barck (1902- ) was a professor of American history at Syracuse University, the author of several books on the subject, and a collector of prints and engravings depicting important American historical and literary figures and events.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The O. T. Barck Historical Lithograph and Manuscript Collection consists of engravings, lithographs, prints, etc. depicting American historical and literary figures and American historical events. Subjects range from the American Revolution (e.g., Battle of Long Island, tearing down of the statue of King George III, capture of Fort Ticonderoga), presidents of the United States, American authors (e.g., James Fenimore Cooper, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Washington Irving, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow), and locations (e.g. Mount Vernon, Christ Church in Alexandria, Old Witch House in Salem). There is also a small amount of historical manuscript material -- deeds, indentures, commissions, etc.


Arrangement of the Collection

Original order, as received from donor.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Barck, Oscar Theodore, Jr., 1902-1993.

Subjects

American literature.
Authors, American -- Pictorial representations.

Places

United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Pictorial representations.
United States -- History.

Genres and Forms

Deeds.
Engravings.
Financial records.
Indentures.
Lithographs.
Newspapers.
Prints (visual works)
Wills.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

O. T. Barck Historical Lithograph Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of O. T. Barck, 1969, 1971.


Table of Contents

Action engravings

Group portraits

Portraits

Artwork, miscellaneous

Documents


Inventory