Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Honoré de Balzac Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: Oct 2006

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Balzac, Honoré de, 1799-1850
Title: Honoré de Balzac Letters
Dates: 1832-1844
Quantity: 1 folder (SC 177)
Abstract: Four letters from the French novelist
Language: French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Honeré de Balzac was a French novelist. Along with Flaubert, he is generally regarded as a founding father of realism in European literature. His work, the bulk of which is collectively entitled La Comédie humaine, is a broad panorama of French society in the period of the Restoration (1815-1830) and the July Monarchy (1830-1848).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Honoré de Balzac Letters consists of four outgoing letters, handwritten, in French, with typed English translations.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library's Rare Books department has an extensive amount of Balzac-related material (books, serials, essays, etc). Please contact the repository listed above for further information.


Subject Headings

Persons

Balzac, Honoré de, 1799-1850.

Subjects

Authors, French.
French literature -- 19th century.
Novelists, French.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Honoré de Balzac Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase [?]


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 177 Outgoing letters 1832, 1839, 1844 (4 letters)