Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Baldwin Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: unknown

Revision history:
2 Jan 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Baldwin, John.
Title: John Baldwin Papers
Dates: 1806-1849
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the Justice of the peace, merchant. Correspondence; financial papers and notes; genealogical notes; and school district records from Sharon, Vermont, 1820-1830; also a manuscript attributed to Albert Baldwin titled "Cultivating memory."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Baldwin was an American Justice of the Peace and merchant in 19th century Vermont.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Baldwin Papers include correspondence, subject files, and a manuscript. Correspondence consists of incoming correspondence to John Baldwin. Subject files includes financial papers and notes, a genealogical note, legal papers, and Sharon, Vermont school district records for 1820-1830. Manuscripts consists of a single manuscript, undated, of an article by Albert Baldwin entitled "Cultivating Memory."


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Baldwin family.
Baldwin, Albert.
Baldwin, John.

Subjects

School boards, Vermont.

Places

Vermont, History.

Genres and Forms

Genealogies.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Baldwin Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts (of others)


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming, A-Z 1826-1827, 1832, 1834, 1836-1837, 1842, 1846, 1849
Subject files
Box 1 Financial papers and notes 1806-1808, 1814, 1816-1818, 1821-1823, 1825, 1832, 1836, undated
Box 1 Genealogical notes after 1828
Box 1 Legal papers 1807, 1811, 1821, 1827, 1837
Box 1 Sharon school district records 1820-1830
Manuscripts (of others)
Box 1 "Cultivating Memory," Albert Baldwin undated