Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles Baldwin Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 18 Sep 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Baldwin, Charles, fl. 1814.
Title: Charles Baldwin Collection
Dates: 1814-1815
Quantity: 1 folder
Abstract: Small collection of documents relating to Charles Baldwin of Onondaga County. Most pertain to his military service.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of Charles Baldwin other than what can be gleaned from the collection. He was a resident of Onondaga County, served in the United States Army in several capacities including as aide-de-camp to General John Ellis of the 5th New York Division, 27th Brigade, and was a Master of the Court of Chancery of the State of New York.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Baldwin Collection is a small collection of documents relating to Charles Baldwin of Onondaga County. Most pertain to his military service. The documents include regimental orders.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Baldwin, Charles, fl. 1814.

Subjects

Military service, Voluntary.

Places

New York (State). -- Court of Chancery.
Onondaga County (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Military commissions.
Military records.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Baldwin Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Miscellaneous
Map-Case  Orders and appointments 1814-1815 (4 items)
  • a regimental order dated 28 October 1814 specifying that the quartermaster of Colonel Clark's regiment (Charles Baldwin is the paymaster) should procure four baggage wagons for their march
  • a regimental order dated 28 October 1814 specifying that Charles Baldwin, paymaster of the regiment, assemble several equipped companies and have them march to Lieutenant Colonel Christopher Clark's house in Manlius by 30 October
  • a brigade order dated 4 November 1814 specifying that Lieutenant Charles Baldwin be aide-de-camp to Brigadier General John Ellis, 27th New York
  • a partially printed certificate dated 27 March 1815 appointing Charles Baldwin a master of the Court of Chancery of the State of New York