Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ray Bailey Cartoons

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bailey, Ray, 1913-1975.
Title: Ray Bailey Cartoons
Dates: 1951-1952
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American cartoonist, creator of the comic strip Tom Corbett, Space Cadet. Collection contains published and proof cartoons and some advertising items.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ray Baiiley (1913-1975) was an American cartoonist, best known as the creator of the comic strip Tom Corbett, Space Cadet. The strip was based on a radio show of the same name from the late 1940s.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ray Bailey Cartoons contains published and proof cartoons and some advertising items.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bailey, Ray, 1913-1975.
Corbett, Tom (Fictitious character)

Associated Titles

Tom Corbett, space cadet.

Subjects

Astronauts -- Cartoons and caricatures.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc.
Space travel -- Cartoons and caricatures.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons.
Comic strips.

Occupations

Cartoonists.
Illustrators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ray Bailey Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1968 [?]


Table of Contents

Published cartoons

Proofs

Advertising


Inventory

Published cartoons
Box 1 Clippings Feb-Mar 1952
Proofs
Box 1 Daily cartoons 24-29 Dec, 1951; 18-29 Mar, 1952; 7-12 Apr, 1952
Advertising
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1952 (8 items)