Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Deodatus Babcock Notebook

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Oct 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Babcock, Deodatus.
Title: Deodatus Babcock Notebook
Dates: 1819
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Notes by Deodatus Babcock of Manlius, New York on various works of theology, including Thomas Stackhouse's "A Complete Body of Divinity," Rev. J. Shepherd's "On Common Prayer," William Paley's "Evidence of Christianity,"
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author of this volume, other than that he resided in Manlius, New York, and evidently had an interest in theological scholarship. Thomas Stackhouse (1677-1752) was an English theologian, Curate of Shepperton in Middlesex and, from 1713, minister of the English Church at Amsterdam. He is best known for his "New History of the Holy Bible from the Beginning of the World to the Establishment of Christianity," but he also published sermons and monographs. William Paley (1743-1805) was a British Christian apologist and philosopher. He is best known for his work Natural Theology, wherein he made use of the watchmaker analogy to argue for the existence of God.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

Deodatus Babcock Notebook consists of one handwritten volume, begun in February 1819. It contains notes on a number of theological works, including Thomas Stackhouse's A Complete Body of Divinity, Rev. J. Shepherd's On Common Prayer, and William Paley's Evidence of Christianity. Inside the back cover is a list of "Names of the primitive writers & places of residence" and in the middle of the book is a list of dates of translations of the Bible, and of the rulers of England from Henry VIII to Elizabeth I.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Babcock, Deodatus.
Paley, William, 1743-1805 -- Criticism and interpretation.
Stackhouse, Thomas, 1706-1784 -- Criticism and interpretation.

Subjects

Natural theology.
Theology.

Places

Manlius (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life.

Genres and Forms

Notebooks.
Research notes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Deodatus Babcock Notebook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 672 Notebook of theological writings 1819