Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Adult Student Personnel Association (ASPA) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: KW
Date: 1991

Revision history:
11 April 2006 converted to EAD (MRR)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Adult Student Personnel Association
Title: Adult Student Personnel Association (ASPA) Records
Dates: 1961-1980
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Records include conference proceedings and programs, correspondence, directories, lists, newsletters, and other publications. Records from both the Adult Student Personnel Association and the Evening Student Personnel Association are included as well as material from organizations with whom ASPA had close ties, such as the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations and the United States Association of Evening Students. Correspondents whose letters are of greatest depth and duration include Robert A. Allen and Edward Phoenix.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Adult Student Personnel Association (ASPA) was originally founded as the Evening Student Personnel Association (ESPA). The name was officially changed to the ASPA in March, 1968. The activities of the ESPA are reflected in its newsletter, journal ( Journal of Student Personnel Work in Adult and Evening Education), and annual conventions. The newsletters and journal were published irregularly, but after 1963, a convention was held every year except 1972. In 1973, ASPA held its tenth annual convention and republished a collection of articles from its journal under the title A Decade of Development. Throughout most of its existence, ASPA maintained strong ties with the United States Associate of Evening Students (USAES) and the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO).

Papers from the ASPA were collected by several individuals, but largely represent the contributions of Edward Phoenix and Robert A. Allen, both of whom were longstanding members, presidents, and executive board members. Consequently some files may overlap or duplicate one another; in other places, large gaps occur. The files in the ASPA collection are arranged by type and chronologically wherever possible. Files are labeled ESPA or ASPA to correspond with the name of the organization when the papers were produced. Some papers have no date.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Allen, Robert A.
Phoenix, Edward

Corporate Bodies

Coalition of Adult Education Organizations
Evening Student Personnel Association
United States Association of Evening Students

Subjects

Adult education
Continuing education

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Lists.
Newsletters.
Proceedings.
Programs (documents)

Occupations

Teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Adult Student Personnel Association (ASPA) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Donated by Robert Allen, 1986.


Table of Contents

Executive Board

Publications

Annual conference

Constitution

Organization status

Membership

Correspondence

Miscellaneous conferences and workshops


Inventory

Executive Board
Minutes
Box 1 1962-1968 ESPA
Box 1 1968-1971 ASPA
Box 1 1972-1976 ASPA
Box 1 1963-1967 Officers
Box 1 1974-1976 Elections
Box 1 1973 Archives
Publications
Newsletters
Box 1 1961-1966 ESPA
Box 1 1961-1967 ESPA - Editor's notes
Box 1 1968-1975 ASPA
Box 1 1973-1975 Correspondence
Box 1 1968-1974 Journals
Box 1 1971-1973 Publications - correspondence
Box 1 1966-1973 Special mailings
Box 1 1970-1974 Brochures
Box 1 1973 Decade of Development
Annual conference
Box 1 1963-1970 1st-8th, programs
Box 1 1963-1966 1st-4th, proceedings
Box 1 1965-1966 3rd-4th, announcements. notes
Box 1 1968-1969 6th-7th, proceedings
Box 1 1970 8th, Atlantic City, NJ
Box 1 1971 9th, New Hope, PA
Box 1 1972-1974 10th, Washington, DC
Box 1 1975 11th, Ft. Mitchell, KY
Box 1 1975 12th, New York, NY
Box 1 1976 13th, Chicago, IL - Correspondence, D. Becker / R.A. Allen
Box 1 1977 14th, plans
Constitution
Box 1 1961-1962 ESPA
Box 1 1968-1973 ASPA - Constitution and incorporation
Finances
Box 1 1962-1963 Miscellaneous reports
Box 1 1971-1972 Miscellaneous bills, correspondence
Box 1 1971-1978 Finanes and tax exempt status
Organization status
Box 1 1977 Miscellaneous
Membership
Box 2 1963-1966 Membership cards
Box 2 1963-1974 Directories
Box 2 1970 Directory correspondence
Box 2 1966-1969 Lists and mailing labels
Box 2 1968-1974 Lists
Box 2 1971 Campaign
Correspondence
Box 2 1972-1976 General
Box 2 1972-1975 Phoenix, Ed
Box 2 1974-1978 Allen, Robert A.
Adult education organizations and publications
Box 2 1969 Counseling and Personnel Services in Adult Education - ERIC
Box 2 1969 Kellogg Directory, Community and Junior Colleges
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations
Box 2 1973 Ray Ast
Box 2 1973 Miscellaneous
Box 2 1976 Transactions
Box 2 1973 Adult Education Clearinghouse, newsletter
Association of University Evening Colleges
Box 2 1973 Newsletter
Box 2 1973-1974 Directories
United States Association of Evening Students
Box 2 1974 Miscellaneous
Box 2 1975 USAEA/ASPA joint meeting
Box 2 1974-1980 Adult education organizations, various
Miscellaneous conferences and workshops
Box 2 1965 International Association of Evening Student Councils, annual conference (New York City)
Box 2 1973 Future Shock Workshop
Box 2 1974 American College Personnel Association, Commission XIII
Box 2 1974 Serving the Elderly Workshop
Monographs
Box 2 1974, undated Miscellaneous